I am currently reading “flickering pixels” a book that investigates how technology shapes faith. Most of the points are not new to me, but the author noted the relativism of our modern age. That is, one person’s truth authority is as good as another’s.

The author was against this postmodern view, as am I. However, what if my source of truth is the same as your source of truth, but we each make different meaning out of it? What if my source of truth at one point in my life, means something different to me at a different time of life?

Admitting interpretive difference is, to
me, different than relativism. I believe in an absolute truth, I just also accept my & other human beings fallibility & imperfect interpretation. Perhaps this constant reflection on what is true is the truth we ought seek. After all, this is a journey, not a destination.

One thought on “Truth or truth

  1. If we hold similar views, then I bet you believe in absolute truths and relative truths. Various categories of reality, such as knowledge (i.e., relating to epistemological truth) and the “real” world (i.e., relating to ontological truth) open up the possibility of absolute and relative truths. For instance, I believe there are moral and theological truths….I just wish I could know them with greater clarity and less doubt. There are also relative truths. For instance, I maintain that the grass that I should have mowed yesterday was green (I’m making a truth claim about its color), but the “green-ness” that I perceive is relative to my observation. Though someone standing next to me also sees the same wavelength that I see (which makes a number of assumptions about ontological truths), the “green” that they perceive may not match up with my “green.” I use relative truth claims to provide consistency within my own experiences, and to better interact with others, but I’m really not too worried when they are challenged. Absolute truths are, by definition, independent of and non-affected by ourselves, so if they in fact exist, then they fundamentally affect how I conceive the world and how I base decisions.

    This in no way lumps me into the post-modern camp, especially the harder forms of the camp who maintain that you can have “abolute truths” that are relative to each person. Gotta love those radical constructivists.

Leave a Reply

